Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 8th, 2010

Earlier this week Keaton’s toddler odometer flipped over to 31 months, and when I took him in to get his oil changed they told me they did an attitude adjustment but I don’t think it worked. Figures.

This month was full of highs and lows, Sir, but lucky for us (and for your thumbnails which I am about ready to hang you from) it balanced out because of all you accomplished. All that “NO!” “I DON’T WANNA” “I WON’T” and “YOU CAN’T MAKE ME” was making you kind of an asshole to live with. Plus? WE CAN TOTALLY MAKE YOU. IS OUR JOB TO MAKE YOU. WE NEVER GET TIRED OF MAKING YOU.

For awhile there, your favorite pastime seemed to be to cross your arms while sticking your nose in the air for dramatic effect. It would have been pretty believable if you didn’t ruin it by giving us the side-eye, making sure we were noticing how UPSET! and INDIGNANT! you were. When I meet your eye you fight the smile that’s trying desperately to escape from your tightly pursed lips, and it finally wins out when in regards to your arms wrapped across your chest I say, “Oh look, Keaton loves himself! He’s giving himself a biiiiig hug!” And there you are again. My budders, erupting into giggles with that terribly awesome smile.

So the big accomplishments?

1. Pedaling. I mentioned that Rowan took forever to pedal her trike- last fall I think. Well, we got her a big girl bike with training wheels for her 4th birthday and she just figured out how to pedal it reliably. 10 and a half months later. Bill and I were really working with her, and Keaton followed along on his big wheel and as we were cheering Rowan on her brother whipped past her, pedaling merrily. We were very proud of both of them, and as they’ve practiced in the last couple of weeks we’ve been able to ditch the stroller and let the kids ride their bikes to the park and wow that sounds so very grown up of them.

2. Colors. OK, so all your 2 year olds probably figured out their colors something like a year or so ago, yes? Rowan had them mastered by the time she was 20 months. Keaton…well…at first we thought he was maybe a little “special” in the colors area. For awhile he referred to every color as green. His Blue shirt? Green. His yellow big wheel? Green. His green shoes? Green, but he only wins that one by default. Somewhere along the line he seemed to maybe get yellow right about 40% of the time and blue seemed to be maybe a 60/40 shot in his favor. But. He wasn’t consistent and even if he got the color right it felt like he was just guessing.

Noticing that all the other kids in his toddler class could correctly identify colors, I asked the teacher about color blindness and she said that she didn’t think they even started testing in schools until 1st or 2nd grade. I guess it made me nervous because he’s been verbal since about 12 months and seemed to grasp other concepts like numbers and opposites and shapes so we couldn’t figure out why he had a hard time learning something so seemingly simple.

Then Bill was all NO SON OF MINE WILL BE COLORBLIND. I WILL BEAT THE COLORS¬† INTO HIS VISION IF I HAVE TO. You see, Bill is a designer. Colors are kind of important. “How will he follow in my footsteps if he’s colorblind?”, he asked. I might have responded with something insensitive about how this was not the 17th century and it’s not like he needed an apprentice in his Ye Olde Design Shoppe or it would be lost, leaving the family homeless and probably full of leprosy. Then he might’ve called me an asshole and where were we?

Oh, right. So he’s not colorblind. At some point a couple of weeks ago something just clicked and he started properly identifying all the colors, including ones we barely mentioned like silver. We were pretty impressed. And relieved. I really did not want leprosy. He still needs to think about it when presented with green and red and an unfortunate side effect for a while was that he could only identify objects by their color, i.e. What kind of truck is this? Correct answer: Dump Truck. Keaton’s answer: Yellow. We’ll accept it though, on account of how cute he is and I’m his mama, I make the rules.

3. Less messy with food. Son I really, honestly didn’t think the day would ever come when we didn’t have to put a bib on you. I was very confident I would be packing one in your lunch every day when I sent you off to school. Sometime this month you started pulling them off right after I put them on you and lo and behold! Your shirt didn’t die a horrible spaghetti or yogurt death! GO YOU.

I know this next one is an accomplishment and yeahyeahyeah it’s supposed to be this way, but this month it’s become overwhelmingly obvious you are pulling away from us. You opt to follow your sister and cousins around at functions, positioning yourself on the outskirts of their games, laughing at their big kid ways and sometimes joining in. You no longer willingly go to the grocery store or Target to sit in the cart and be our helper. You want to be the pusher of the cart or maybe just dart down the greeting card aisle and pull a bunch of the cards out of their slots, leaving me to sort out them mess. (Aside: IT SUCKS WHEN YOU DO THAT.) You are asserting your independence and pushing to see just how far we’ll let you go. Your legs are getting so long and I know you’ve been growing all along but my god it seems like it’s just happened. You’re all legs and arms, the only pudge left seems to reside in your cheeks and please, sir, let it stay for a while.¬†

Read Full Post »