Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 9th, 2012

Internet? Last night I got almost 6.5 hours of sleep.

WHAT?!

SIX AND A HALF HOURS.

Four and a half of which were in a row. A motherfucking row. Uh. Sorry about that. I don’t just swear when I’m angry. I swear to express extreme delight as well. It just makes me feel good. Other acceptable times to swear : when hurt, agitated, driving, breathing, cleaning the fish tank, applying eye make-up, walking, watching American Horror Story and/or Walking Dead {not because it’s scary but because sometimes these characters do the DUMBEST SHIT… i.e. “let’s take the 75 year old doctor WHO WE DESPERATELY NEED for baby/all the medical things on a pointless exploration for supplies where his odds of death/zombification go up exponentially” YER SO DUM, DUMMIES!! {Also Carl. DUM.}}. Wow. This is not a very coherent paragraph. And this is me on relatively buckets and buckets of sleep. I’m just going to abort and-

Hi. Let’s start over. I slept and I like to swear and TV characters are stupid. Moving on. Today we’ve had our little guy exactly two weeks and while I had originally planned to write and post his birth story on this day, I am not that motivated right now so…bullet points it is!

What’s life like for our little two week old…

* Putting a newborn on a schedule is laughable but Ezra does already have a pretty predictable routine.

~EATS: Roughly 2.5-3.5 hours apart during the day. He’s normally pretty easy to hold off if need be, except for when he isn’t. At night he goes anywhere from 3 to 5 hours. Neither Rowan nor Keaton managed 4-5 hours until nearly 2 months old so THANK YOU, I WILL TAKE IT. His feedings last anywhere from 25 minutes to 50 minutes depending on how hungry/sleepy he is. I’m not gonna lie, the long feedings kind of suck both literally and figuratively.

~SLEEPS: In theory we try to follow the “up for 1 hour, sleep for 2” rule for newborns, but really during the day we just let him be awake when he wants to be awake and sleep when he wants to sleep and his natural pattern ends up pretty close to what they recommend. Once Bill goes back to work we’ll have to get better about going right to bed after his 8:30- 10:00 feeding because going to bed between midnight and 1am is not really doing us any favors. During the earlier night feeding Ezra is pretty easy to settle back in. Unfortunately if he gets up to eat around 5ish, it’s trickier to settle him down for a little extra shut-eye between 6 and 7:30. This won’t be as big of a deal once Bill and I move up our own bedtime though.

~POOPS: Loud and often. Good job, Baby. Now that his circ and belly button are healed, we are cloth diapering using prefolds and covers during the day, which I’m new to {we used Bumgenius pocket diapers with Keaton and didn’t start until he was one}. I have to admit, the first couple of times I attempted a prefold I got pretty discouraged. Cloth diapering a newborn is a whole different ball game. Ezra is not what you would call a big fan of diaper changes, cloth or disposable, so trying to get the diaper wrapped around and fastened securely took practice and was {is more} time consuming. Since I obviously do all the feedings, Bill has taken over much of the diaper duty and I have to give him mad props~ hippie diapers were definitely NOT his idea but he hasn’t complained at all and is now quite the expert.

~CRIES: Honestly after Keaton, someone could drop a vat of starving Screeching Eels that like to hum along to Nickelback into our living room and we’d hardly bat an eye. Ezra definitely gets fussy, especially when something comes between him and a good poop but it’s a lot more grunting and screeching than all out screams. He’s been way more fussy week 2 than week 1 but we sort of figured that first week was too good to last forever and well, unfortunately we were right.

So that’s pretty much the life a two week old… All-in-all? he’s a keeper.

 

Read Full Post »